How do I delete an opportunity?
This article shows group managers how to delete a draft opportunity.
If you've created an opportunity in error but haven't yet published it, you can delete the draft altogether. This is not a reversible action, so please bear this in mind if there are any details you'd like to retain. Otherwise, you can simply leave the opportunity as a draft for future use if you prefer.
Delete a draft from the Opportunities table
Open your group management page (How do I manage my group?)
Open the Opportunities tab
Open Drafts/Pending in the Manage Opportunities section
Click Delete below the opportunity name
When prompted, click Confirm
The opportunity will be deleted altogether and cannot be recovered.
Delete a draft after reviewing it
Open your group management page
Open the Opportunities tab
Open Drafts/Pending
Click Edit below the opportunity name (instead of Delete)
Review the draft in the opportunity builder and copy any details you want to keep
Scroll to the bottom of the wizard and click Delete
Click Proceed when prompted
Why can't I see the red Delete button?
The Delete button is only shown when deletion of the opportunity is available as an option. Deletion is only possible on draft opportunities.
If your opportunity has been published, it can be cancelled or ended, and the appropriate button will be shown instead of Delete. Which of these two options is available depends on a number of factors, such as the opportunity type and whether or not your opportunity has volunteers assigned to it.
How do I cancel a published opportunity?
If you've already published an opportunity and would like to remove it, you'll be given the option to end the opportunity, which removes it from your active opportunities list and closes it to future applications and volunteer activity.
For more information, see How do I end an opportunity?